I Signed Up For This Regimen

Hey Trendsetters, so I’m off and running on my healthy telaxed hair journey where my main goals are health and length retention, I am aiming for  between Shoulder Length or longer if possible by December 2015. Therefore, I have sat down and planned out how I intend to attain these goals and to help stay sane during this journey…..

hair chart

Hair-care:
Keep scalp and hair clean by washing hair once a week. moisturize hair every other day using Liquid Condition Oil  method or if in box braids or extensions, mix with water in spray bottle and spray onto hair and massage scalp and edges.

example of a breakdown on how I will wash my hair

  • Week 1: pre-shampoo (apply oil treatment to hair before washing) – shampoo – condition
  • Week 2: protein treatment (strengthen) – co-wash (wash hair with conditioner only)
  • Week 3: pre-shampoo – shampoo – condition
  • Week 4: deep condition (moisture) – co-wash

Styling:
During the relaxer stretch my aim is to protect my ends and minimize hair manipulation so as to avoid excessive combing and brushing. I will be wearing my hair in protective styles such as buns, milkmaid braids and box braids as well as cooperate the use of wigs and extensions as these methods are easy and low maintenance.

Heat:
If heat is to used for a straighter look, I will use a heat protector to avoid overheating or burning or opt for roller set air-dried 85% with the hairdryer on cool/low setting. However it won’t be used more than 1-2 times a month.

Trim:
I will trim my hair only when necessary or in the event that split ends occur.

Nutrition:
I will make a conscious effort to eat well and drink 9 cups of 8 oz cups of water a day, along with taking a combination of biotin, folic acid and MSM (MethylSulfonylMethane) to aid with growth.

To find out the amount of water I needed to drink I followed the equation:

water-chart

Too legit to quit

DISCLAIMER: Information posted is offered to you as tips….you are not obligated to incorporate any tips into your practices.

One thought on “I Signed Up For This Regimen

  1. Pingback: Healthy Hair Journey Update _ Protective Styling | Radical Trendsetters

Leave a Reply

